State DOT CEOs Named to TRB Executive Committee

The Transportation Research Board named Nathaniel P. Ford Sr. (seen above at right) – CEO of the Jacksonville Transportation Authority – and Shawn Wilson (above at left), secretary of the Louisiana Department of Transportation and Development, as chair and vice chair, respectively, of TRB’s 2022 executive committee. Their terms begin in January 2022.

TRB also reappointed Diane Gutierrez-Scaccetti – commissioner of the New Jersey Department of Transportation – and Julie Lorenz, secretary of the Kansas Department of Transportation, to three-year terms on its executive committee.

TRB’s executive committee – which provides strategic direction and oversight for all of TRB’s programs and activities – is composed of approximately 25 members, appointed by the chair of the National Research Council.

TRB said in a statement it picks those members to provide “balanced representation” of transportation modes, academic disciplines, private and public sectors, levels of government, geographical regions, and other relevant factors.

Ford is currently serving as vice chair of TRB’s executive committee and has previously served as chair of the committee’s International Subcommittee and the Task Force on Diversity and Inclusion. He is also the past chair of the American Public Transportation Association.

Wilson – who also serves as the vice president of the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials – is currently chair of the TRB’s research panel for projects identified by state DOT CEOs.

Related articles