NOCoE to Announce TSMO Winners at 2019 TRB Annual Meeting

The National Operations Center of Excellence plans to announce its annual Transportation Systems Management & Operations award winners on Sunday, Jan. 13, during the opening reception of the 2019 Transportation Research Board’s annual meeting, being held at the Walter E. Washington Convention Center in Washington, D.C. The awards presentation will take place at 5:00 p.m. at AASHTO booth #935.

The awards are designed to celebrate the use of TSMO and encourage its expansion throughout the United States, noted Patrick Son, NOCoE’s managing director, in a statement.

[The Iowa DOT recently provided an overview of what TSMO aims to accomplish in practice.]

Four winners in four primary categories from this competition – which is open to any city, county, metropolitan planning organization, state department of transportation, or private sector organization – are being honored at the 2019 TRB event, he said. The four winners being honored are:

  • The Arizona Department of Transportation for its US-60 Restripe Project, which helped reduce crashes by 70 percent at an interstate merge point;
  • The North Carolina Department of Transportation for its Hurricane Florence preparation and response efforts;
  • The Oregon Department of Transportation for its development of @OregonTIMResponders, which uses social media to engage Oregon first responders across multiple disciplines while simultaneously promoting responder safety laws and practices; and
  • ITS Heartland for its educational program called TSMO University that delivered via monthly webinars and in-person training sessions.

Son noted that an overall winning submission from among those category winners will be announced at the 2019 TRB annual meeting, with judges also selecting an individual to be honored as the “TSMO Champion of the Year,” chosen for his or her work in advancing the TSMO cause and changing the way people think about transportation.

Related articles