Two State DOTs Representatives Added to MTSNAC Committee

Daniel Harmon (above left) with the Texas Department of Transportation and Bryan Ross (above right) from the Missouri Department of Transportation were two of 29 new members added on April 24 to the U.S. Department of Transportation’s Maritime Transportation System National Advisory Committee.

Established nine years ago, the MTSNAC is made up of leaders from commercial transportation firms, trade associations, state and local public entities, labor organizations, academia, and environmental groups to guide the U.S. Secretary of Transportation on matters relating to marine transportation and its seamless integration with other segments of the transportation system.

Committee members serve two-year terms, with no more than two consecutive term re-­appointments allowed, USDOT said in a statement.

Dan Harmon

Harmon serves as the Texas DOT’s maritime division director and is responsible for coordinating with Texas ports, the Gulf Intracoastal Waterway, and marine-intermodal related projects.

He joined the Texas DOT in August 2013 after a stint as director of facilities and infrastructure for the Texas Department of Public Safety. A U.S. Navy veteran, Harmon served on active duty for over 22 years as a maritime patrol and reconnaissance pilot.

Bryan Ross

Ross is the railroad operations manager for the Missouri DOT, overseeing the agency’s rail safety programs as well as the state Amtrak service between Kansas City and St. Louis.

He also spent five years as the Missouri DOT’s waterways and freight manager, responsible for all programs relating to Missouri’s 15 public port authorities and two publicly supported ferries.

He also drafted legislation to create a state Waterways Trust Fund in Missouri with a dedicated revenue source as well as exploring ways to incentivize shippers and barge operators to increase freight traffic on the Missouri River section of the M-70 Marine Highway.

Related articles