Iowa DOT’s Marler to Chair AASHTO CTSO Committee

The American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials has appointed Scott Marler (above), director of the Iowa Department of Transportation, to a two-year term as chair of the Committee on Transportation System Operations or CTSO.

The CSTO committee focuses on harnessing transportation system operations, intelligent transportation systems, and other emerging technologies to improve the safety, reliability, and performance of the nation’s highway system.

This committee also strives to transform the national transportation community to a transportation systems management and operations or TSMO culture and guides the National Operations Center of Excellence and the AASHTO Operations Technical Service Program, in collaboration with the Institute of Transportation Engineers and the Intelligent Transportation Society of America.

Marler – appointed by Governor Kim Reynolds (D) to serve as Iowa DOT’s director on February 17 – is a 22-year veteran of the Iowa DOT.

He holds a Master of Science degree from Miami University in Oxford, Ohio, and a Bachelor of Science degree from the University of Southern Mississippi in Hattiesburg.

Marler also been active in leadership development and workforce planning at the Iowa DOT and played an instrumental role in advancing geospatial technologies and systems throughout the department.

Related articles