Finalists Selected for America’s Transportation Awards

The American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials has named the Top 12 finalists in the 2021 America’s Transportation Awards competition.

[Above photo of the Brent Spence Bridge by the KYTC]

State department of transportation projects in Arizona, Delaware, Florida, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, New Jersey, North Carolina, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, and Utah have earned the highest number of points in the regional contests, solidifying a place 2021 contest’s finalist list.

The Top 12 finalists – whittled down from 80 nominees from 35 state DOTs via four U.S. regional contests – now compete for the Grand Prize and the People’s Choice Award. Both prizes come with a $10,000 cash award for a charity or transportation-related scholarship of the winners’ choosing.

“While the last 18 months have brought so much uncertainty, one thing that has remained the same is the commitment from state DOTs to deliver a safe and efficient multimodal transportation system for our communities,” said Jim Tymon, AASHTO executive director, in a statement.

Jim Tymon

“This competition recognizes just a few examples that highlight the ways in which state DOTs are improving quality of life and economic vitality of our communities, saving time and money through new innovations and technologies, and making better use of assets already in place,” he added.

Sponsored by the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials, AAA, and the U.S. Chamber of Commerce, the competition evaluates projects in three categories: Quality of Life/Community Development; Best Use of Technology & Innovation; and Operations Excellence.

Finalists are also divvyed up by project size: small (projects costing up to $25 million); medium (projects costing between $26 million to $200 million); and large (projects costing more than $200 million).

Fourth Street Bridge over Interstate 40. Photo by the Arizona DOT.

An independent panel of transportation experts will choose the Grand Prize winner, while the public will select the People’s Choice Award winner through online voting weighted to each state’s population, allowing for greater competition between states with larger and smaller populations.

Online voting for the People’s Choice Award is already underway, AASHTO said, ending at 11:59 p.m. Eastern Time on October 25. Cast votes by clicking here but note that individuals can cast no more than one vote per day.

AASHTO will announce the winners during its Annual Meeting in San Diego, October 26-29.

The Top 12 projects in alphabetical order are:

Related articles