Omishakin, Anderson Kelliher Tapped to Chair AASHTO Committees

Margaret Anderson Kelliher (above at right), commissioner of the Minnesota Department of Transportation, and Toks Omishakin (above at left), director of the California Department of Transportation, have been appointed to chair two separate American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials committees. Both will serve two-year terms.

Margaret Anderson Kelliher

Anderson Kelliher will serve as chair of the Committee on Environment and Sustainability, which promotes resource stewardship through sustainable practices, develops programs and initiatives to streamline the environmental review and permitting processes, and ensures inclusive community engagement.

The committee monitors, analyzes and develops policy recommendations related to environmental laws, regulations, and guidance. It also guides and supports the work of the Center for Environmental Excellence by AASHTO and the Environmental Technical Assistance Program or ETAP.

Toks Omishakin will serve as chair of the Council on Active Transportation, which addresses issues related to bicycles and pedestrians, improving access to transit, and other active transport modes.

Toks Omishakin at left.

It also broadly communicates the value of active transportation to the transportation system, the environment and communities, monitors and provides input on federal policies, and supports active transportation forums for knowledge transfer and general capacity building for member departments.

Omishakin previously served as the council’s vice chair and replaces longtime chair Leslie Richards, the former secretary of the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation, who is becoming general manager of the Southeastern Pennsylvania Transportation Authority in January.


Related articles