AASHTO Names new CDMA Chair and Vice Chair

The American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials has named Gregory Ciparelli (above left), chief data officer for the Connecticut Department of Transportation, to a two-year term as chair of its Committee on Data Management and Analytics or CDMA.

Concurrently, AASHTO appointed Lou Anne Daugherty (above right) – chief data officer at the Nebraska Department of Transportation – to a two-year term as CDMA’s vice chair.

Ciparelli oversees the Connecticut DOT’s data governance program, open & enterprise data platforms, plus its geographic information systems or GIS and data analytics units. He holds a Bachelor of Arts in Political Science from Boston College and was the 2020 AASHTO Transportation Vanguard Award winner for excellence in the implementation of innovative technologies and processes.

In 2019, Ciparelli was tapped by Connecticut DOT to lead its Transportation Enterprise Data (TED) initiative, which aimed to streamline data collection activities, reduce redundancy, identify and make accessible authoritative data sources, plus provide a more flexible user environment for analysis of agency data assets – a platform for which Connecticut DOT received a “Special Achievement in GIS Award” from Esri in 2022. 

Ciparelli is active in the Federal Highway Administration’s Applications of Enterprise GIS for Transportation or AEGIS-T Pooled Fund Study, the AASHTO Innovation Community of Practice, and the National Cooperative Highway Research Program.

Meanwhile, Daugherty oversees the Nebraska DOT’s data governance Committee and managing teams for data warehouse, business intelligence, report administration, and GIS. She is also a member of the AASHTO CDMA Steering Committee and recently joined the AASHTOware Technical & Applications Architecture or T&AA task force.

She holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Computer Information Management from the College of Saint Mary and actively supports education by volunteering to coach students in capstone projects at the University of Nebraska College of Engineering and Technology, as well as serving as senior design projects at the University of Nebraska’s Jeffrey S. Raikes School of Computer Science.

Related articles