AASHTO Names Knowledge Management Committee Chair

The American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials has named Aaron Johnson (above) – Superior Region engineer for the Michigan Department of Transportation – to a two-year term as the chair of its Committee on Knowledge Management. He previously served a two-year term as the committee’s vice chair.

[Above photo by the Michigan DOT]

“Knowledge Management” is a collection of policies, processes, and practices relating to the cultivation, identification and documentation, utilization, sharing, and retention of intellectual/knowledge-based assets in an organization.

Aaron Johnson. Photo by Michigan DOT.

AASHTO’s Committee on Knowledge Management seeks to foster collaboration across organizational and disciplinary boundaries with state departments of transportation, linking people who have the requisite knowledge with those who need it to do their jobs.

Michigan DOT named Johnson Superior Region engineer in 2016.

An over 20-year agency veteran, Johnson is a graduate of Michigan Technological University and served as an officer in the U.S. Army.

His previous Michigan DOT posts include Superior Region operations engineer, Ishpeming TSC manager, Ishpeming TSC traffic and safety engineer, maintenance engineer with the Brighton TSC, and bridge design engineer in the agency’s design division.

He is former chair of the Upper Peninsula Traffic Safety Committee and is a certified trainer for the Michigan Traffic Incident Management Effort. As a Michigan DOT region engineer, he also is a member of the agency’s leadership team and heads up its Knowledge Management System.

Related articles