AASHTO Makes Two Committee Appointments

The American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials has appointed Tim Henkel (above right), assistant commissioner-modal planning and program manager at the Minnesota Department of Transportation, as chair of its Committee on Performance-Based Management.

The group also named John Milton (above left), director of enterprise and risk management at the Washington State Department of Transportation, as vice chair of its Committee on Safety, which is chaired by Michael Tooley, director of the Montana Department of Transportation.

Both of those appointments are for two-year terms, AASHTO said.

Henkel’s 32-year transportation career includes working with local government, the private sector, and numerous positions within the Minnesota DOT.

Tim Henkel

A graduate of Minnesota’s Bemidji State University with a four-year bachelor’s degree in public administration and Dunwoody College of Technology with a two-year Associate’s Degree in engineering and land surveying, Henkel is also the incoming chair of the Transportation Research Board’s Research and Technology Coordinating Committee.

Milton is a 30-year transportation industry veteran who has held a number of engineering positions with WSDOT’s design, traffic, and planning sections during his time with the agency.

John Milton

He holds a bachelor of science degree in civil engineering and a master’s degree in engineering management from St. Martin’s College, along with a master’s degree and Ph. D in civil engineering from the University of Washington.

Milton’s research has focused on econometric and statistical modeling of the frequency and severity of vehicle collisions, which is why he’s served on a number of National Academy of Engineering research panels over his career that were focused on highway safety and data analysis.

Related articles