Gutierrez-Scaccetti Named N.J. Governor’s Chief of Staff

Governor Phil Murphy (D) has appointed Diane Gutierrez-Scaccetti (above), commissioner of the New Jersey Department of Transportation, as his next chief of staff.

[Above photo by the New Jersey DOT]

Gutierrez-Scaccetti, who starts in her new role on October 2, will continue serving as New Jersey DOT commissioner until January 2024.

“Diane has been a dedicated member of our Administration since day one and I am looking forward to welcoming her to our senior leadership team in the Governor’s Office,” said Gov. Murphy in a statement

“She has built an impressive track record leading the Department of Transportation and has earned the respect of legislators and elected officials across the state,” he added. “Having worked with her for six years, I know that her experience and skillset make her the ideal choice to lead our entire administration.”

Diane Gutierrez-Scaccetti. Photo by the New Jersey DOT.

Prior to becoming the New Jersey DOT commissioner, Gutierrez-Scaccetti – who has over 40 years of experience in public service, including 21 years at the New Jersey Turnpike Authority – served as executive director and CEO for Florida’s Turnpike Enterprise.

In her capacity as New Jersey DOT commissioner, Gutierrez-Scaccetti also serves as chair of NJ TRANSIT, the New Jersey Turnpike Authority, the South Jersey Transportation Authority, the NJ Transportation Trust Fund Authority, and as vice chair of the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission.

Gutierrez-Scaccetti – who holds a Bachelor of Science degree from the University of Connecticut and a Master of Science degree from Rutgers University – is a member of the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials board of directors, as well as for the Northeast Association of State Transportation Officials, and currently serves as chair of the AASHTO Committee on Transportation Communications, known as TransComm.

She also served as the 2022 president of the International Bridge, Tunnel and Turnpike Association and is the immediate past president on the IBTTA Executive Committee and Chair of the IBTTA Nominating Committee.

Gutierrez-Scaccetti currently serves as chair of the executive committee of the Transportation Research Board and as chair of the Eastern Transportation Coalition, formerly the I-95 Corridor Coalition.

Related articles