Four New State DOT Chief Executives Named

Arizona, Nebraska, Nevada, and Pennsylvania have named new chief executives for their respective state department of transportation agencies.

[Above clockwise from left: Jennifer Toth, Vicki Kramer, Mike Carroll, and Tracy Larkin-Thomason]

Newly-elected Governor Katie Hobbs (D) named Jennifer Toth to be director of the Arizona Department of Transportation on January 6.

Jennifer Toth. Photo by the Arizona DOT.

A 25-year veteran of the public works sector, she most recently served as the director for the Maricopa County Department of Transportation as well as the county’s engineer. Toth, who also previously served as Arizona DOT’s state engineer and deputy director, holds a bachelor’s degree and Master of Science in Civil Engineering.

Concurrently, newly-elected Governor Jim Pillen (R) appointed Vicki Kramer as the new director of the Nebraska Department of Transportation director on January 6 as well.

“Vicki brings broad experience from both the private and public sector to keep moving our state’s transportation system into the 21st century,” the governor said in a statement posted on Twitter.

Vicki Kramer. Photo by the Nebraska DOT.

“She will be a transformative leader and is the person we need to speed the completion of Nebraska’s vital four-lane highway system plan and deploy 21st century infrastructure across the state,” Gov. Pillen added.

Kramer previously worked as the chief of staff for Infrastructure Markets and Strategy for Kiewit Infrastructure Engineering. She also previously worked for the Nebraska DOT from 2016 to 2020 in a variety of roles, including communication director and public policy director as well as a strategic advisor to then-director Kyle Schneweis.

Kramer has also served over a decade as a chemical and human resource officer in the Nebraska National Guard and currently holds the rank of major. She received a Bachelor of Science in Political Science and Journalism from the University of Nebraska-Kearney and holds Master of Public Administration from the University of Nebraska-Omaha.

Tracy Larkin-Thomason. Photo by the Nevada DOT.

The Nevada Transportation Board unanimously approved the appointment of Tracy Larkin-Thomason as the new director of the Nevada Department of Transportation. She officially assumes her new role as Director on January 17.

Larkin-Thomason most recently served as the senior vice president of program development for the Intelligent Transportation Society of America. Prior to that, she spent more than 30 years working in various senior-level roles at Nevada DOT, including more than eight years as the deputy director for Southern Nevada.

“Tracy’s three decades of experience with Nevada DOT, as well as her most recent role working on cutting-edge transportation systems at the national level, gives her a deep understanding of what it takes to build, maintain, and operate Nevada’s vast network of roads and bridges,” noted Governor Joe Lombardo (R) in a statement.

Larkin-Thomason holds a Bachelor of Science in Civil Engineering and a Master of Business Administration from the University of Nevada, Reno. She has also served on several national committees and panels for National Academy of Sciences and the American Association of State Highway Transportation Officials.

Mike Carroll.

Finally, according to a news story, Governor-elect Josh Shapiro (D) named former state representative Mike Carroll as the next Pennsylvania Secretary of Transportation.

Carroll was first elected to the Pennsylvania House of Representatives in 2006 and was subsequently re-elected for seven additional terms. He worked on transportation issues throughout his time in public office.

Carroll also served as Democratic chairman of the state legislature’s House Transportation Committee from 2018 to 2022.

Related articles