AASHTO’s Tymon Receives P.D. McLean Award

Jim Tymon (above), executive director of the America Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials, received the 2022 P.D. McLean Award from The Road Gang for outstanding contributions to the advancement of highway transportation in the public interest.

[Above photo by AASHTO]

Established in 1962, the P. D. McLean Award is given annually by the Washington D.C.-based group in commemoration of P.D. McLean. He is one of the founders and the first chairman of The Road Gang, which is comprised of business and government executives, highway engineers and consultants, and trade association officials, among others, to promote the interchange of ideas among “Washington’s Transportation Fraternity.”

Greg Cohen (at right) presenting Jim Tymon with the P.D. McLean Award. Photo by AASHTO.

“Jim is a tremendous leader who has dedicated his career to the betterment of transportation,” noted Greg Cohen – president of consulting firm 2349 Solutions and the 2021 winner of the P.D. McLean Award – during the award presentation. Cohen previously served as the president of the Roadway Safety Foundation and American Highway Users Alliance.

“I’m very humbled to receive this award, as the list of people who have received it in the past has been incredibly impressive,” Tymon said – pointing out that three former U.S. transportation secretaries, six former administrators of the Federal Highway Administration, and 15 members of Congress have received the P.D. McLean Award in the past.

Tymon – who’s more than 25-year transportation career spans four years in the Office of Management and Budget, 12 years with the House of Representatives Transportation and Infrastructure Committee, and nine years with AASHTO with the last four as executive director – credited AASHTO’s staff and state DOT members for receiving the P.D. McLean Award.

“This award is really not mine – it’s really the accomplishment of everyone I’ve ever worked with,” he said. “It’s recognition for all of the folks I’ve worked with for over 25 years.”

Related articles