AASHTO Taps University of Kansas for Leadership Series

The American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials has selected the University of Kansas to develop a new AASHTO Leadership Development Series starting in 2021 – one that will replace its existing National Transportation Management Conference, National Transportation Leadership Institute, and National Transportation Advanced Leadership Institute programs.

The organization said those current leadership development courses – administered via separate agreements with different providers – will remain in place through 2020. The new series will harmonize and modernize the curriculum and ensure alignment with the changing workforce needs of AASHTO’s members.

Brandye Hendrickson. Photo by Arizona DOT.

“We are excited to be partnering with the University of Kansas team to bring the next era of leadership development training to the DOT community,” noted Brandye Hendrickson, AASHTO’s deputy director.

“Their approach honors the great tradition of AASHTO leadership development while demonstrating a deep understanding of state DOT challenges and opportunities with an eye to the future,” she added.

More details regarding the courses and registration and application processes will be released in early 2021.

Related articles