AASHTO Taps Toth to Chair Committee on Planning

The American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials has appointed Jennifer Toth (above) – director of the Arizona Department of Transportation – to a two-year term as chair of its Committee on Planning.

[Above photo by the Arizona DOT]

AASHTO’s Committee on Planning addresses all aspects of the transportation planning process, including federal regulations, current industry practices, and emerging approaches and concepts.

Jennifer Toth. Photo by the Arizona DOT.

The planning committee is also dedicated to providing state departments of transportation the expertise, resources and tools they need to implement a robust planning process within their agencies that is multimodal, multidisciplinary, innovative and consensus-oriented.

A 25-year veteran of the public works sector, Toth most recently served as director for the Maricopa County Department of Transportation as well as the county’s engineer before being appointed director of the Arizona DOT on January 6 by Governor Katie Hobbs (D).

Toth, who also previously served as Arizona DOT’s state engineer and deputy director, holds a bachelor’s degree and Master of Science in Civil Engineering.

Related articles