AASHTO Makes Two Committee Appointments

The American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials recently made two key committee appointments.

[Above photo by AASHTO]

AASHTO named Shanté Hastings, deputy secretary and chief engineer for the Delaware Department of Transportation, to a two-year term as the vice chair of its Committee on Transportation Systems Operations.

Shanté Hastings. Photo by the Delaware DOT.

She most recently served as vice chair of the Steering Committee for the AASHTO Innovation Initiative, known as A.I.I.

During her more than 20-year career with the Delaware DOT, Hastings has served as a project manager, assistant maintenance engineer, chief of performance management, deputy director of transportation solutions, and director of policy and performance before her promotion to chief engineer in June 2019. The agency then also appointed her deputy secretary in January 2021.

Hastings graduated from the University of Delaware in 2000 with a bachelor’s degree in civil engineering. She also serves as the Delaware DOT secretary’s designee on national policy issues and as the agency’s liaison with the Federal Highway Administration.

Concurrently, AASHTO also re-appointed Todd Bergland – director of project data management for the Minnesota Department of Transportation – to a two-year term as a member of the Special Committee on AASHTOWare, known as SCOA.

AASHTOWare – a division of AASHTO – offers a suite of transportation software products delivered through a collaborative business model with state departments of transportation across the country.

SCOA is comprised of volunteers from AASHTO member agencies who help develop the goals to guide AASHTOWare software development efforts.

Related articles