AASHTO Appoints Two New R&I Committee Members

The American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials recently appointed David Jung-Hwi Lee and Cynthia Smith to serve four-year terms as Regional 2 members of its Special Committee on Research and Innovation.

David Jung-Hwi Lee

Lee is assistant director for the long range planning division at the Tennessee Department of Transportation. A college of engineering graduate from South Korea’s Hanyang University, he holds a masters of urban planning from the State University of New York-Buffalo and a doctorate in city and regional planning from the Ohio State University.

Lee has spent the last five years with the Tennessee DOT in his current position. His transportation career includes a three-year stint at the Georgia Institute of Technology as a research scientist and five years as a regional planner with the Fredericksburg Area Metropolitan Planning Commission.

Cindy Smith

Smith currently serves as state research engineer for the Mississippi Department of Transportation.

She’s been with the department for 24 years, starting out in 1996 as an engineer-in-training within its planning division.

She holds a Bachelor of Arts from Emory University and a civil engineering degree from Louisiana Tech University.

Related articles